• Secretary General

      The Secretary General of the ECO is elected and appointed by the Council of Ministers for from among the candidates nominated by the Member States on the basis of qualifications, experience and suitability as laid down in the Staff Regulations of the ECO Secretariat. As the Chief Administrative Officer of the Organization, Secretary General is responsible for all activities of the Organization. The Secretary General is discharging his duties over a non-renewable three-year terms of office.

      H.E. Ambassador Halil Ibrahim Akca (Turkish national) is ECO Secretary General. He is the 11th Secretary General of the ECO who started his tenure in August 2015.

      Current Secretary General
      Halil Ibrahim Akca

      Former Secretaries General​

      Chef de Cabinet of the Secretary General
      Mr. Duran Simsek
      Tel: (+9821)22831733

      Secretary to Secretary General
      Ms. Mojgan Mirzajani
      Tel: (+9821)22831730/22291015
      Email: mmirzajani@eco.int

      Deputies Secretary General

      Dr. HadiSoleimanpour (Iranian national) is ECO Deputy Secretary General (since Februray 2018) in charge of Energy, Minerals and Environment (EME); Human Resources and Sustainable Development (HRSD); and Drugs and Organized Crime Unit (DOCCU). He is also supervising the administrative affairs of the Secretariat. : :CV ::

      Mr. Kanan Nazarov (Azerbaijani national) is ECO Deputy Secretary General (since March 2016) in charge of Trade and Investment (T&I), Agriculture, Industry and Tourism (AIT) and External Relations (IR).: :CV ::

      ECO Deputy Secretary General in charge of Transport and Communications (TC); Projects, Economic Research and Statistics (PERS); and Coordination and Follow-up Unit (CFU). This post is currently vacant. : :CV ::

All Rights Reserved By ECO