## The 1<sup>st</sup> Council of Ministers

# Revised Framework and the Modalities for the ECO Award

(Tehran, 22-23 May, 1991)

Annex-XII

#### **FORM OF AWARD:**

Three cash awards of US\$5000.00 (US Dollars Five Thousands only) each along with a medallion shall be given annually for outstanding performance in the fields specified in paragraph 2.

#### **ELIGIBILITY:**

- 2. The awards shall be given for outstanding research work and/or achievement in the following fields which should preferably have regional character:
  - (i) Economics and other Social/Human Sciences.
  - (ii) Natural Sciences, Medicine and Technology.
  - (iii) Literature and Fine Arts.

## **NOMINATION:**

3. Each member country shall submit three nominations, one in each of the above indicated fields, alongwith justification including biodata/curriculum vitae and list/copies of complete works of each nominee to the Secretariat by the end of October each year. In addition abstracts in English of all the works should also be submitted. The Secretariat would circulate the Working Paper of the meeting including the abstracts at least one month before the meeting.

## **SELECTION:**

4. An Award Committee shall meet in December each year at the ECO Secretariat to select a winner in each of the three fields from the nominees proposed by the member countries. The Award Committee shall comprise six members, two each from the three member countries. The Secretary General of ECO will be an ex-officio member and Head of the Committee and shall have the casting vote. The members of the Committee will meet the nominees of their respective countries before participation in the meeting of the Committee.

#### **FINAL DECISION:**

5. The names of the candidates selected by the Award Committee will be submitted by the Secretariat to the Council of Deputies in its subsequent session for approval. Thereafter, the Secretariat will announce the winners.

## AWARD CEREMONY:

6. Award ceremony will be held during the Council of Ministers' meeting. The President/Prime Minister will be requested to give away the Award.