1st Summit Report Page 1 of 3

The 1st Summit

Report

(Tehran, 16-17 February, 1992)

The First Summit Meeting of the Economic Cooperation Organization was held in Tehran on 16-17 February 1992. The meeting was attended by His Excellency Mr. Hashemi Rafsanjani, President of the Islamic Republic of Iran; His Excellency Mr. Turgut Ozal, President of the Republic of Turkey; His Excellency Mr. Muhammad Nawaz Sharif, Prime Minister of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan; His Excellency Mr. Ayaz Motalibov, President of the Republic of Azerbaijan; His Excellency Mr. Saparmurat Niazov Atayovich, President of Turkmenistan; His Excellency Mr. Yuldashov Shokat Mohyedinouvich, Chairman of the High Council of the Republic of Uzbekistan, His Excellency Mr. Erkibayev, Deputy Prime Minister of the Republic of Kyrgyzstan, His Excellency Mr. Lakim Qayumov, Minister for Foreign Affairs, Republic of Tajikistan. The Summit Meeting was also attended by His Excellency Mr. Bayknev, Deputy Prime Minister of the Republic of Kazakhstan, on special invitation. The list of the delegates is at *Annex I*.

<u>Inauguration</u>

The meeting was inaugurated by His Excellency Mr. Hashemi Rafsanjani, President of the Islamic Republic of Iran. The text of his speech is at *Annex II*.

His Excellency Mr. Turgut Ozal, President of the Republic of Turkey also addressed the meeting. The text of his speech is at *Annex III*.

Election of the Chairman

His Excellency Mr. Hashemi Rafsanjani, President of the Islamic Republic of Iran was elected Chairman of the Meeting by acclaim.

Adoption of the Agenda

The meeting adopted the Agenda which is attached at **Annex IV**.

Opening Statements by the Leaders

The meeting was addressed by H.E. Mr. Turgut Ozal, President of the Republic of Turkey and H.E. Mr. Muhammad Nawaz Sharif, Prime Minister of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan. The texts of their statements are at *Annex V* and *VI*.

H.E. Mr. Ayaz Motalibov, President of the Republic of Azerbaijan, H.E. Mr. Saparmurat Niazov Atayovich, President of the Republic of Turkmenistan; H.E. Mr. Yuldashov Shokat Mohyedinouvich, Chairman of the High Council of the Republic of Uzbekistan; H.E. Mr. Bayknev, Deputy Prime Minister, Republic of Kazakhstan and H.E. Mr. Erkibayev, Deputy Prime Minister, Republic of Kyrgyzstan also addressed the meeting.

In their statements, the Heads of the new member-states of the ECO thanked the founding members for their cooperation and support extended to them in joining the Organization. They further expressed the hope that their participation in the activities of the ECO would usher in new era of development and prosperity in the region.

Appointment of the Drafting Committee

1st Summit Report Page 2 of 3

The meeting appointed the following as members of the Drafting Committee:

1. Mr. Mir Mahmood Moussavi,

Director General (West Asia),

Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Islamic Republic of Iran.

2. Mr. Akin Alptuna,

Deputy Director General,

Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Republic of Turkey.

3. Mr. Khalid Saleem,

Additional Secretary,

Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Islamic Republic of Pakistan.

<u>Presentation of the Report of the Second Meeting of the Council of Ministers</u>

H.E. Mr. Ekrem Ceyhun, Minister of State of the Republic of Turkey presented the Report of the Second ECO Meeting of Ministers held in Ankara on 5-6 February, 1992. A copy of the Report is at **Annex VII**.

Closing Session

(1) ECO Award Ceremony

The ECO Award Ceremony for the year 1991 was held. The recipients Award were introduced by H.E. Mr. Ali Reza Salari, Secretary General, ECO. The text of his address is at *Annex VIII*.

The awards were given by H.E. Mr. Turgut Ozal, President of the Republic of Turkey; H.E. Mr. Hashmi Rafsanjani, President of the Islamic Republic of Iran and H.E. Mr. Muhammad Nawaz Sharif, Prime Minister of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan respectively to the following:

- (i) Dr. Syed Jaffar Shahidi of Iran in the field of Social Sciences.
- (ii) Mr. Ismail Gulgee Agha of Pakistan in the field of Fine Arts.
- (iii) Prof. Dr. Turhan Baytop of Turkey in the field of Natural Science.

Signing of the Annex to the ECO Protocol on Preferential Tariffs

The Additional Protocol on ECO Preferential Tariffs alongwith the Annexes containing List of Commodities and Rules of Origin were signed by:

- (i) H.E. Mr. Ali Akbar Velayati, Foreign Minister, Islamic Republic of Iran
- (ii) H.E. Mr. Ekrem Ceyhun, Minister of State, Republic of Turkey
- (iii) Mr. Muhammad Siddique Khan Kanju, Minister of State for Foreign Affairs, I. R. of Pakistan.

A copy of the Additional Protocol is at **Annex IX**.

Release of Joint Communique

H.E. Mr. Ali Akbar Velayati, Minister for Foreign Affairs, Islamic Republic of Iran presented the Joint Communique which was unanimously adopted by the Meeting. The text of the Communique is attached at **Annex X**.

Any Other Business

The leaders decided to hold the Second ECO Summit Meeting in 1993. H.E. Mr. Turgut Ozal, President of the Republic of Turkey offered to host the next meeting in Turkey. H.E. Mr. Muhammad Nawaz Sharif, Prime Minister of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan offered to host the

1st Summit Report Page 3 of 3

Third Summit in Pakistan.

Vote of Thanks

The meeting ended with a Vote of Thanks by H.E. Mr. Muhammad Nawaz Sharif, Prime Minister of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan. The text of his statement is at *Annex XI*.

[Home] - [Back]