The recipients of ECO Awards were introduced by SG

Annex-VIII

Honourable Heads of States and Governments, Excellencies, Ladies & Gentlemen

I feel extremely honoured to welcome the distinguished guests to attend the ECO Award Ceremony. In fact, it is our good luck that all the Heads of States and Governments who came to Tehran to participate in the ECO Summit Meeting are able to attend this Ceremony and confer the ECO Award to the distinguished recipients from the brotherly member countries.

Excellencies.

I take this liberty of presenting a brief background of the ECO Award.

The main objective of the ECO Award is to promote the cause of science, education, literature and fine arts in the ECO region by recognizing excellence in these fields. This award will also attract scholars from ECO countries to work more vigorously for the advancement of scientific, educational and cultural cooperation in the ECO region. ECO Award will be an annual event. It carries a medallion and a cash prize of US\$ 5000/-

The ECO Award Committee under the Chairmanship of the Secretary General, Economic Cooperation Organization and the Representatives of the member countries was entrusted with the task of selecting one distinguished person from each member country who could be granted ECO Award in various fields. We received nominations of outstanding personalities from Iran, Pakistan and Turkey, out of which three eminent nominees were to be selected.

I am happy to announce that on the recommendations of the ECO Award Committee, the Council of Ministers has approved the grant of the Award for the year 1991 to:

- 1- Mr. Ismail Gulgee Agha of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan in the field of Fine Arts.
- 2- Professor Dr. Turhan Baytop of the Republic of Turkey in the field of Natural Sciences.
- 3- Dr. Seyyed Jaffar Shahidi of the Islamic Republic of Iran in the field of Social Sciences.

I now request His Excellency Hojjatoleslam Akber Hashemi Rafsanjani to kindly confer the ECO Award for the year 1991.

I now call upon Dr. Seyyed Jaffar Shahidi of the Islamic Republic of Iran to kindly come

forward and receive the ECO Award in the field of Social Sciences.

Dr. Seyyed Jaffar Shahidi is a famous scholar and writer having to his credit many books and publications on religion and other subjects. His excellence in Arabic is acknowledged throughout the Middle-East where he delivered many lectures. He has translated many books on various subjects.

I now call upon Mr. Ismail Gulgee Agha of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan to kindly come forward and receive the ECO Award in the field of Fine Arts.

Mr. Ismail Gulgee Agha is an engineer by profession and is a renowned artist, painter and sculptor of Pakistan. His artistic abilities have been recognized by experts all over the world. He has participated in exhibitions of paintings in ECO countries. His crowning achievement has been the Mehrab, Mimber and Crescent of famous Faisal Mosque in Islamabad which has been widely acknowledged. In recognition of his services in the field of arts, he has been the proud recipient of Pakistan national awards of Sitara-e-Pakistan, Quaide-Azam Award and President's Pride of Performance.

Professor Dr. Turhan Baytop of the Republic of Turkey has been awarded the ECO Award in the field of Natural Sciences. I regret to announce that Dr. Turhan Baytop could not reach Tehran due to his protracted illness.

Mr. Guner Gurdil, Press Counsellor of the Republic of Turkey is requested to come forward to receive the ECO Award on behalf of Dr. Turhan Baytop.

Professor Dr. Turhan Baytop is a famous Research Scholar and Expert on Pharmacognosy and History of Pharmacy. He is an author of about 50 original papers. His specific scientific specialization is Medicinal Plant Chemistry and eight new plant types of Anatolia have been identified and named by him.

Now I request the Excellencies to have a group-photo with the Awardees.

