# The 1<sup>st</sup> Council of Ministers

## Report of the ECO Award Committee (Tehran, 16 FEBRUARY 1989)

Annex-XI

## IN THE NAME OF ALLAH THE ALIYIIGHTY

In accordance with the framework and modalities approved by the High Council on 14 March 1988 (Fifth Session), the ECO Award Committee, comprising the following members appointed by the respective member countries met at the ECO Secretariat, Tehran, on 16 February 1989 under the chairmanship of II.E. Mr. Ali Reza Salari, Secretary General, ECO:

IRAN:

I.	Dr. Hamid Abrishami,		
	Advisor to the Minister of Culture and Higher Education and		
	Member of the Tehran University Scientific Board.		
2	Dr. Teymoor Tayakkoli		

# Deputy Minister of Culture & Higher Education and Member of the Tehran University Scientific Board.

#### PAKISTAN:

- H.E. Mr. Tanvir Ahmad Khan, Ambassador of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan to the Islamic Republic of Iran.
- 2. Dr. Daler Khan, Vice Chancellor, Quaid-i-Azam University, Islamabad.

# TURKEY:

#### 1. Mr. Necati Ozfirat,

Deputy Undersecretary of the State Planning Organization.

2. Professor Dr. Adiian Saplakogiu,

Member of the Turkish Scientific & Technical Research Coujicil(TUBITAK).

2. The Committee considered the following nominations of the member countries for the ECO Award:

#### IRAN:

- 1. Dr. Seyyed Jafar Shahidi
- 2. Dr. Gholam Hossain Hakim Elahi
- 3. Dr. Hassan Tajbakhsh

## PAKISTAN:

- 1. Dr. Nabi Baklish Khan Baluch
- 2. Dr. Gliulam Abbas Ivliaiia
- 3. Mr. Ismail Gulgee Agha

# TURKEY:

- 1. Professor Dr. Turan Erol
- 2. Professor Dr. Turhan Baytop

3. The members of the Committee found it extremely difficult to objectively compare the achievements of the nominees belonging to vastly different fields/,disciplines. All of them had excelled in their respective fields and it was not considered possible to select only one winner. The Committee, therefore, decided to select a nominee from each of the three fields specified by the Hi.-Ili Council and to recommend that they may be declared as joint winners of the ECO Award 1989. The Committee also recommended that the amount of Award i-nay also be raised to US \$ 15,000/- so that each of the three winners could be given \$ 5,000/- along with a Medallion. The Secretary General, ECO, as Chairman of the Committee, agreed that the amount originally approved (i.e. US \$ 10,000/-) would be supplemented by the additional amount of US \$ 5,0001- from within the Secretariat's Budget, for 1988-89.

4. The Committee unanimously selected the following three nominees as joint winners of the ECO Award 1989 (their names given in alphabetical order):

- 1. Mr. Ismail Gulgee Agha (Pakistan) in the field of Fine Arts.
- 2. Professor, Dr. Turhan Baytop (Turkey) in the field of Natural Sciences.
- 3. Dr. Seyyed Jafar Shahidi (Iran) in the field of Social Sciences.

#### Design of the Medallion:

5. The Committee discussed the question of design of the Medallion to be given to the winners along with the Cash Award. For a specimen, Pakistan's Pride of Performance Medal was considered. It was noted that the Secretariat would obtain an appropriate design of the Medallion reflecting the common cultural heritage and the spirit of brotherhood and cooperation of the three member countries.

# Proposed Revision of the Award's Format:

6. As stated earlier, the present framework- and modalities of the ECO Award posed problems in the selection of a winner especially since the nominees belonged to different fields/disciplines. new Committee was of the unanimous view that for an objective evaluation of the achievements of the nominees iii future, a revision in the framework and modalities of the Award is essential and unavoidable.

IRAN	PAKISTAN	TURKEY
1. (Dr. Hamid Abrishami)	(H.E.Mr.Tanvir Ahmad Khan)	(Mr. Necati Ozfirat)
2. (Dr.Teymoor Tavakkolii)	(Dr. Daler Khan)	(Prof.Dr.Adiian Saplakoglu)

#### (H.E. Mr. Ali Reza Salari) Secretary General ECO Chairman of the ECO Award Committee

[Home] - [Back]