Economic Cooperation Organization

The Fifth Summit Meeting of the Economic Cooperation Organisation (ECO) was held at Almaty on 11 May, 1998. The Meeting was chaired by H.E. Mr. Nursultan Nazarbayev, the President of the Republic of Kazakhstan and attended by H.E. Mr. Burhanuddin Rabbani, President of the Islamic State of Afghanistan, H.E. Mr. Artur Rasizade, Prime Minister of the Azerbaijan Republic, H.E. Mr. Seyed Mohammad Khatami, President of the Islamic Republic of Iran, H.E. Mr. Askar Akaev, President of the Kyrgyz Republic, H.E. Mr. Muhammad Nawaz Sharif, Prime Minister of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, H.E. Mr. Emomali Rakhmonov, President of the Republic of Tajikistan, H.E. Mr. Suleyman Demirel, President of the Republic of Turkey, H.E. Mr. Saparmurat Niyazov, President of Turkmenistan and H.E. Mr. Islam Karimov, President of the Republic of Uzbekistan. H.E. Mr. Onder Ozar, Secretary General of ECO also attended the Meeting.

Relevant Documents
List of Participants
Statements of the Heads of International Organizations
Report of the Chairman of the ECO Council of Ministers
Report of ECO Secretary General on the ECO activities
Almaty Declaration