Economic Cooperation Organization

The Extraordinary Summit Meeting of the Economic Cooperation Organization (ECO) was held at Ashgabat on 13-14 May, 1997. The Meeting was participated by H.E. Professor Burhanuddin Rabbani, President of the Islamic State of Afghanistan, H.E. Mr. Heider Aliev, President of the Azerbaijan Republic, H.E. Mr. Akbar Hashemi Rafsanjani, President of the Islamic Republic of Iran, H.E. Mr. Nursultan Nazarbaev, President of the Republic of Kazakhstan, H.E. Mr. A. Jumagulov, Prime Minister of the Kyrgyz Republic, H.E. Mr. Mohammad Nawaz Sharif, Prime Minister of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, H.E. Mr. Emomali Rahmonov, President of the Republic of Tajikistan, H.E. Mr. Suleyman Demirel, President of the Republic of Turkey, H.E. Mr. Saparmurat Niyazov, President of Turkmenistan, H.E. Mr. Islam Karimov, President of the Republic of Uzbekistan. H.E. Mr. Onder Ozar, Secretary General of ECO also attended the Meeting. H.E. Mr. Ahmed Mohammad Ali, President of the Islamic Development Bank, Mrs. Dunia Pastizzi-Ferencic, Representative of the Secretary General of the United Nations and Deputy Executive Secretary of the Economic Commission for Europe, and representatives from EBRD, World Bank and IRTO (International Road Traffic Organization) attended the Meeting as special guests.

Relevant Documents
List of Participants
Inaugural Address of H.E.Mr. Saparmurad Niyazov, President of Turkmenistan
Statements of the Heads of International Organizations
Statement of ECO Secretary General
Ashgabat Declaration