Economic Cooperation Organization

 (Tehran,November21, 2023)

The 9th High Level Expert Group (HLEG) Meeting of ECO Regional Institute for Standardization, Conformity Assessment, Accreditation and Metrology (ECO-RISCAM) was held virtually on November 21, 2023. Jointly organized by Iran National Standards Organization (INSO) and the ECO Secretariat, the event was attended by representatives of Republic of Azerbaijan, Islamic Republic of Iran, Republic of Kazakhstan, Islamic Republic of Pakistan, Republic of Tajikistan, Republic of Türkiye, Turkmenistan and Republic of Uzbekistan, along with the representatives of ECO Secretariat and Central Secretariat of ECO-RISCAM.

            The Meeting was inaugurated by Mr. Gurkan Polat, Director of Agriculture and Industry Department at ECO Secretariat and chaired by Dr. Parviz Darvish, Deputy of Iran National Standards Organization (INSO). 

            Mr. Gurkan Polat in his remarks, noted that standardization has the ability to facilitate trade among countries by reducing transaction costs and providing common reference points in order to facilitate welfare and economic growth in the ECO countries. He added that ECO-RISCAM will be an instrumental unique body to contribute to the strengthening of the quality infrastructure in the region through cooperation with the relevant international organizations.

            Dr. Darvish highlighted the benefits of ECO-RISCAM for improving the conditions for sustainable economic development of the member states and removing trade barriers in the region and he also reiterated on the necessity of harmonization of standards especially related to higher trade rates and priority products. 

            A Report on history and activities of ECO-RISCAM was presented by the representatives of Central Secretariat of ECO-RISCAM. Likewise, the participants from the Member States shared their statements and country reports on the RISCAM issues. The meeting also overviewed basic documents of the ECO-RISCAM for further approval through relevant authorities of ECO.